Get the best from this site

We would like to place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better. For more information, including how to turn cookies off, see more about cookies. Or simply continue below:


How do I become a Councillor?

If you want to help make things better in the city, represent local people, and play a part in Coventry's future, you should become a city councillor.

Elections to the Council are held in three out of every four years. Coventry is split into 18 wards, with three councillors in each one. Each councillor is elected by a simple majority – whoever gets the most votes - and is then on the Council for four years. 

Councillors speak for the people in their area, listening to their problems and helping to improve their areas.

Councillors also attend meetings at the Council House in the centre of the city, and speak up for their area. They also decide how the Council spends its money and what the most important things are for the Council and the city.

Most councillors are in a political party, but anyone can be an 'independent' candidate, and call for the changes they want in the city. For more information about becoming a councillor, go to or call or e-mail the Elections Team.

Electoral services

Opening hours: Monday - Friday, 9.00am - 5.00pm (excluding bank holidays)


Tel: 024 7683 3034

Fax: 024 7683 3204

Room 14
Council House
Earl Street

Is there anything wrong with this page?