Bonds Hospital was the first of the two ancient almshouses to be built and it forms the northern side of what is still a very picturesque quadrangle.
Thomas Bond, a draper who became Mayor of Coventry in 1497, left a considerable endowment in his will of 1506 to build and maintain an almshouse for 10 poor men who were members of the Trinity Guild and a woman as housekeeper. Residents were bound by strict rules with penalties for any breach. In the 1830's the building had become almost ruinous. In 1836 it was restored and the boardroom and prayer room were completely renovated but the structural timbers of the original building . In recent years there have been several upgrades to the building. In 2004 a new wing was completed and in 2005 the flats in the Tudor wing were refurbished.
The Boardroom and Prayer Room will be open to view along with items of historical interest and a feature on the wartime Matron of Bonds Hospital Maud Ingram.
No booking required
The Boardroom is directly above the Prayer Room (stairs access only)
Quadrangle rear of St John the Baptist Church