Get the best from this site

We would like to place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better. For more information, including how to turn cookies off, see more about cookies. Or simply continue below:


Council to bestow Honorary Alderman title on former Councillors

Published Thursday, 09 March 2017

Five former Councillors are set to join the ranks of Coventry’s Honorary Aldermen/Alderwomen at an Extraordinary Council meeting in the Council Chamber on 14 March.

Dave Chater, Sheila Collins, Helen Fitzpatrick, Hazel Noonan and Arthur Waugh have all served as Councillors for the city of Coventry, serving its citizens for a combined 119 years between them.

Councillor George Duggins, Leader of Coventry City Council, said: “I am thrilled the five former Councillors are rewarded with such a prestigious title. They are truly deserving of reward for their tireless efforts and this civic title helps us show the Council’s appreciation.”

The Local Government 1972 Act allows Local Authorities to confer the title of Honorary Alderman/Alderwoman and the five have recently been nominated for the award.

Councillor Lindsley Harvard, Lord Mayor of Coventry, said: “These former councillors devoted many years of their life to the city of Coventry and its people. They truly deserve the honour and should be justifiably proud of everything they have accomplished.”

The newly appointed Honorary Aldermen/women will be presented with a medal and a certificate and have their name recorded in the Honorary Alderman Roll.

The five former Councillors will receive their awards on Tuesday 14 March in the Council Chamber at an Extraordinary Council meeting from 2pm. 

Is there anything wrong with this page?