The Lychgate cottages are three interconnecting Grade II listed cottages.
They are the only intact Benedictine Monastic buildings in the original priory precinct and their history and heritage is woven with that of Coventry's St Mary's Priory.
The latter was founded in 1043 by Earl Leofric and Lady Godiva which became Coventry's first Cathedral in 1102 and was destroyed during the English reformation under the laws of King Henry VIII in 1539. Remarkably the Lychgate cottages themselves avoided destruction both in the 16th century and on the night Coventry was blitzed in 1940.
The Lychgate cottages are rich in character and steeped in history spanning from medieval times to the present day: from monks to ribbon weavers, residential dwelling to the Tourist Information Centre to presently a house of Christian prayer and retreat. Come along and hear some of the stories this building has to tell and/or experience the peace and quiet it has to offer.
Guided historical tours will available every half hour from 1 pm until 5 pm (last tour) Tours are suitable/adaptable for all ages. The cellars contain stone from the medieval priory and are designated as a ancient monument of national significance. Tours of the cellars are an optional extra. Please meet in the reception area.
Saturday 14 September: 1300-1700
Sunday 15 September: 1300-1700
Friday 20 September: 1300-1700
Sunday 22 September: 1300-1700
No booking required
Disabled parking is nearby on Cuckoo Lane. Entrance to the three cottages is via 4 Priory Row Narrow steep staircases and small rooms with slopping floors and low ceilings. The stairs are very steep and twist but do have hand rails. The majority of the building is not suitable for people with mobility problems. Cellars are dusty. Visitors are advised to wear sensible footwear and all children must be accompanied by an adult.
Max 24 people per tour/session. Tours last around 30 minutes.
Situated between Holy Trinity church and Wetherspoons.