Get the best from this site

We would like to place cookies on your computer to help us make this website better. For more information, including how to turn cookies off, see more about cookies. Or simply continue below:


The Coventry Award of Merit

Pages in The Coventry Award of Merit

  1. The Coventry Award of Merit
  2. 2014 recipients
  1. Previous recipients

2014 recipients

Award of Merit winners

The 2014 Coventry Award of Merit ceremony was held in St Mary's Guildhall and those who received the Award were:

Right Honourable Bob Ainsworth MP

For outstanding public service to Coventry and its citizens as a former Deputy Leader of the Council from 1989 to 1992, as a Member of Parliament for Coventry North East for 22 years and as a Minister of the Crown for 13 years in Her Majesty's Government, including serving as Secretary of State for Defence.

Professor Madeleine Atkins DL CBE

For outstanding achievement in academic life, and  her contribution to the development of Coventry University during her years as Vice Chancellor, including improving the University's reputation as a place of national and international learning.

Professor Lord Kumar Bhattacharyya KB CBE

For outstanding personal achievement as the founder of Warwick Manufacturing Group, raising the status of engineering and manufacturing in the UK and for his service to the promotion of the University of Warwick and the city of Coventry.

Coventry Rape and Sexual Abuse Centre

For providing a specialist high quality rape and sexual violence counselling support service to the people of Coventry, with compassion and dignity, to almost  5,000 women, men and children every year.

Mr Courtenay Griffiths QC

For outstanding achievement in the legal profession, including appearing as an advocate in the International War Crimes Tribunal in The Hague.

Councillor Tim Sawdon

For outstanding contribution to the city of Coventry during 40 years on the Council, including his year as Lord Mayor in 2012, the year the Olympics came to Coventry; serving as a former Chair of the Housing Committee; as Leader of the Conservative Group; Leader of the Opposition; and as Cabinet Member for Culture, Leisure and Libraries.

Dr Abdullah Shehu FRCP

For outstanding personal achievement in the field of medical research, including outstanding care for patients with profound neurological illness and injuries and representing the Muslim community of the city and for his contribution towards community cohesion.

Lord Mayor's office


Tel: 024 7697 1628

Council House
Earl Street

Is there anything wrong with this page?