Author: Jonathan Stroud
Publisher: Walker Books
ISBN: 9781406394818

About the book

England has been radically changed by a series of catastrophes - large cities have disappeared and London has been replaced by a lagoon. The surviving population exists in fortified towns where they cling to traditional ways, while strangely evolved beasts prowl the wilderness beyond. Conformity is rigidly enforced and those who fall foul of the rules are persecuted: some are killed, others are driven out into the wilds. Only a few fight back - and two of these outlaws, Scarlett McCain and Albert Browne, display an audacity and talent that makes them legends.

Related websites

Related books

Other books by the author/illustrator:

Lockwood & Co series (5 books)
Book 1 - The Screaming Staircase (2014)
Bartimaeus series (4 books)
Book 1 - The Amulet of Samarkand (2010)
Heroes of the Valley (2008)
The Last Siege (2003)

If you enjoyed this book then give one of these a go:

The Wordsmith
Patricia Forde
ISBN: 9781912417124
The survival game 
by Nicky Singer
ISBN: 9781444944525
Grace and fury
Tracy Banghart
ISBN: 9781444941951
A whisper of horses
Zillah Bethell
ISBN: 9781848125766
An ember in the ashes
Tahir, Sabaa  
ISBN: 9780008108427
Fire City
Rai, Bali         
ISBN: 9780552556026
The giver
Lowry, Lois     
ISBN: 9780007578498
Sls logo

Schools Library and Resource Service

Address: Central Library
Smithford Way

Telephone: 024 7697 5485