Author: Dan Smith
Publisher: Scholastic
ISBN: 9781912626762

About the book

Set in Berlin in 1961, and told through journal entries and letters, this is a high-stakes adventure, set during the Cold War. It centres on 2 cousins, Anja and Monika who live opposite each other. They play together every day, with Otto the cat. One night they wake up to bangs and shouts. Soldiers are building a huge, barbed wire fence between them. A terrible forever wall hat gets longer and higher until it divides the whole city. On the East side, Monika is scared - neighbours are becoming spies and there are secret police everywhere. It's Anja who spots that Otto has found a way across. If he can visit Monika, then perhaps she can too. But Anja gets trapped and there's no safe way back.

Related websites

Related books

Other books by the author:

  • The terror of Hilltop House (2023)
  • Nisha’s war (2022)
  • The horror of Dunwick Farm (2022) 
  • The beast of Harwood Forest (2021)
  • The invasion of crooked oak (2020)
  • She wolf (2019)
  • Boy X (2016)
  • My brother's secret (2014)
  • My friend the enemy (2013)

If you enjoyed this book, then give one of these a go:

The boy behind the wall
Maximillian Jones
ISBN: 9781801300001
The Week at World’s End 
Emma Carrol
ISBN 9780571332830
Torn apart : the partition of India, 1947
Swapna Haddow
ISBN: 9780702300417 
Midwinter burning
Tanya Landman
ISBN 9781406397185
The secret in the tower
Andrew Beattie
ISBN 9781782268819
Edgar & Adolf
Phil Earle and Michael Wagg
ISBN: 9780198494911
Honesty and lies
Eloise Williams
ISBN 9781913102999
The lost child of Chernobyl
Helen Bate
ISBN 9781913074715   
Safiyyah's war
Hiba Noor Khan
ISBN 9781839133138 
Code name Kingfisher
Liz Kessler
ISBN: 9781398512498

The misunderstandings of Charity Brown
Elizabeth Laird
ISBN: 9781529075656

Sls logo

Schools Library and Resource Service

Address: Central Library
Smithford Way

Telephone: 024 7697 5485