Coombe Abbey Park and Abbey today

Coombe boathouse
Coombe boathouse

During the 19th century the 2nd Earl Craven enlarged the house and commissioned landscape architect William Andrews Nesfield to design formal gardens. The 5th Earl Craven sold Coombe Abbey and 50 hectares (120 acres) of land in 1923. In 1964 Coventry City Council bought the estate.

In the early 1990s Coombe Abbey Park Ltd was set up to renovate the Abbey buildings and turn them into a luxury hotel. The Council was able to acquire and restore the Old Deer Park, which had been privately owned for most of the 20th century, as a country park.

In recent years, works to restore the boathouse (pictured) and returning the landscape to Brown’s vision has taken place. This has involved renewing his planting in the park and opening up sightlines that showcase the lake and views across the estate as he intended.

Portrait of Lancelot ' Capability Brown, c 1770-75 by Richard Cosway

Portrait of Lancelot ' Capability Brown, c 1770-75 by Richard Cosway, 917421821/Private Collection/Bridgeman Images.

Download and print the Capability Brown at Coombe Abbey Park leaflet