In-year transfers/new arrivals

In-year transfers

When a child enters primary school or transfers at 11 to secondary school, it is normally expected that they will continue at their school throughout their school career. We recognise however, that there may be specific limited circumstances where a parent or guardian considers a transfer request to be appropriate. As a parent, please think carefully before making an in year transfer request. A change of school may not be the solution and if undertaken hastily may worsen the situation. There is clear evidence that the attainment levels of children who move schools are significantly lower than those who remain at the same school throughout their primary education. If you wish your child to transfer schools within Coventry please contact the school your child currently attends to discuss your request with them. This will give an opportunity to resolve any difficulties with the school. Parents considering a transfer should also take into account that if you choose to move your child transport assistance will not be available.

How to apply

All primary schools in Coventry except All Souls Catholic Primary School and St Mary’s & St Benedict’s Catholic Primary School are part of the Coventry co-ordinated admissions scheme. This however, does not include Independent fee-paying schools (please contact these schools direct) and Special Educational Needs Schools which are for children who have an Education, Health and Care Plan (details of how to apply)

For anyone making an application, please view the individual schools' admissions policies. This will show you how each school will prioritise your application. Schools will often give applications for those living in the catchment area, or who have a sibling at the school a higher priority, and the details are available in the school policy or the primary admissions booklet.

Applying for a Coventry school (except All Souls and St Mary and St Benedict Primaries see below)

Please complete the primary in-year application form.

If you are currently living overseas, and are intending to move to Coventry, or have recently moved to Coventry from overseas, and require a primary school place, please contact Access to Education officers on 024 7697 5491 or email SettlementTeam@coventry.gov.uk for support and advice in making your application.

Applicants for Leigh C of E Primary School and Seva School may also need to complete a supplementary information form to enable school governors to fully consider their application against faith-based oversubscription criteria. The supplementary forms can either be obtained directly from the schools or by following the links below. 

Please return completed supplementary forms directly to the school.

How decisions are made

All applications received between the dates shown in the table below will be assessed and decisions will be sent out via letter/email as listed. Please note that admissions decisions are made during term time only.

Round Opening Date Closing Date Date parents can call office for outcome
15 Wed 08-Dec-21 Tue 14-Dec-21 Wed 05-Jan-22
16 Wed 15-Dec-21 Tue 04-Jan-22 Wed 12-Jan-22
17 Wed 05-Jan-22 Tue 11-Jan-22 Wed 19-Jan-22
18 Wed 12-Jan-22 Tue 18-Jan-22 Wed 26-Jan-22
19 Wed 19-Jan-22 Tue 25-Jan-22 Wed 02-Feb-22
20 Wed 26-Jan-22 Tue 01-Feb-22 Wed 09-Feb-22
21 Wed 02-Feb-22 Tue 08-Feb-22 Wed 16-Feb-22
22 Wed 09-Feb-22 Tue 15-Feb-22 Mon 21-Feb-22
23 Wed 16-Feb-22 Tue 22-Feb-22 Wed 09-Mar-22
24 Wed 23-Feb-22 Tue 08-Mar-22 Wed 16-Mar-22
25 Wed 09-Mar-22 Tue 15-Mar-22 Wed 23-Mar-22
26 Wed 16-Mar-22 Tue 22-Mar-22 Wed 30-Mar-22
27 Wed 23-Mar-22 Tue 29-Mar-22 Wed 06-Apr-22
28 Wed 30-Mar-22 Tue 05-Apr-22 Wed 27-Apr-22
29 Wed 06-Apr-22 Tue 26-Apr-22 Wed 04-May-22
30 Wed 27-Apr-22 Tue 03-May-22 Wed 11-May-22
31 Wed 04-May-22 Tue 10-May-22 Wed 18-May-22
32 Wed 11-May-22 Tue 17-May-22 Thu 26-May-22
33 Wed 18-May-22 Tue 24-May-22 Wed 08-Jun-22
34 Wed 25-May-22 Tue 07-Jun-22 Wed 15-Jun-22
35 Wed 08-Jun-22 Tue 14-Jun-22 Wed 22-Jun-22
36 Wed 15-Jun-22 Tue 21-Jun-22 Wed 29-Jun-22
37 Wed 22-Jun-22 Tue 28-Jun-22 Wed 06-Jul-22
38 Wed 29-Jun-22 Tue 05-Jul-22 Wed 13-Jul-22
39 Wed 06-Jul-22 Tue 12-Jul-22 Wed 20-Jul-22
40 Wed 13-Jul-22 Wed 31-Aug-22 Thu 08-Sep-22

Where an application is unsuccessful letters/emails will set out the reason for refusal and information about the right to appeal. Your child will be placed on the waiting list for the school requested and you will have the right to appeal to an independent appeals panel. For information on a school's waiting list and appeal process, please view the school's admissions policies.

Further general information about the appeals process.

Please note: If we are unable to offer you any of the schools you requested and your child does not have a school place you will be asked to contact the School Admissions Team to discuss alternative schools with places available within 10 school days of receipt of your letter/email. The local authority legally must make sure that your child is offered a school place, and will allocate a place at the nearest school with a space available.  

Applying for All Souls Catholic Primary and St Mary & St Benedict’s Catholic Primary Schools

If you wish to apply for in-year admission at either All Souls Primary and St Mary & St Benedict’s Primary Schools, you should contact the school directly (details below) for admission or apply for these and other schools on the online application form and we will pass your request to the listed schools.

All Souls R.C Primary:

Linsey Rae, School Business Manager
E: linsey.rae@allsoulsschool.co.uk
T: 024 7667 5836
A: Abercorn Road, Coventry, CV5 8ED
W: www.allsoulsschool.co.uk

St Mary and St Benedict R.C. Primary School;

Julie Anderton, Clerical Officer
E: admin@stmary-stben.coventry.sch.uk
T: 024 7622 9486
A: Leigh Street, Hillfields, Coventry, CV1 5HG
W: www.stmary-stben.coventry.sch.uk

Whatever year group your child is in, it’s important that if you are considering moving schools, you need to make sure that the school you choose is the right one for your child. The best way to find this out is to visit the school you are interested in - speak to the headteacher (with an appointment) if you can.

Further information about each school can be found on the school contact pages.

Application for places outside the normal age group

Where a parent/carer seeks a place for their child outside their normal age group, they must state which year group they are requesting and why they want this year group on the application form. Parents/carers will then be contacted to discuss the matter further as requests will be considered on the circumstances of each case and in the child’s best interests. Each school governing body will need to make an individual decision. There are no guarantees that such applications will be agreed. However, where the application is not agreed a letter setting out the decision and reasons for it will be provided along with any rights to appeal.

Further information for parents and schools to consider in dealing with applications outside the normal age group.

Fair Access Protocol

The Coventry Fair Access Protocol ensures that, outside the normal admissions round, unplaced children are offered a place at a suitable school as quickly as possible. This protocol does not apply to Looked After Children or pupils who have an Education, Health and Care Plan. The protocol also seeks to ensure that no school - including those with available places - is asked to take a disproportionate number of children who have been excluded from other schools, or who have challenging behaviour.

Further details of the protocol are available from the Inclusion and Attendance team.

Transport

If you decide to move your child, the Local Authority will not provide free transport even if you live outside the travel limits for the school (two miles for key stage 1 and three miles for key stage 2). Remember the journey to a new school may involve additional buses, extra costs and travelling time.

Admissions team - Primary

Monday to Thursday: 8.30am – 5pm, Friday: 8.30am - 4.30pm

Telephone: 024 7697 5445