1978 Recipients

  • Rt Revd Cuthbert Bardlsey CBE, Bishop of Coventry from 1956 to 1976

  • Professor Joan Browne CBE, JP - Principal, Coventry College of Education 1948 to 1975

  • Mr Jack Jones MBE, General Secretary, Transport and General Workers' Union

  • Mr Phillip Larkin CBE, Poet and Librarian of the University of Hull

  • Mr Walter Chinn OBE, Director of Education for Coventry from 1947 to 1969

  • Sir Stanley Harley DL, industrialist, Managing Director, Coventry Gauge and ~Tool Ltd