2014 Recipients

  • Bob Ainsworth MP - For outstanding public service to the City of Coventry and its citizens as former Deputy Leader of Coventry City Council from 1989 to 1992, as Member of Parliament for Coventry North East for 22 years and as a Minister of the Crown for 13 years in Her Majesty’s Government serving as Secretary of State for Defence

  • Madeleine Atkins DL CBE - For outstanding achievement in academic life, and her contribution to the development of Coventry University during her years as Vice Chancellor including enhancing the University’s reputation as a place of national and international learning.

  • Kumar Bhattacharyya KB CBE - For outstanding personal achievement as the founder of Warwick Manufacturing Group raising the status of engineering and manufacturing in the UK and for his service to the promotion of the University of Warwick and the City of Coventry.

  • Coventry Rape and Sexual Abuse Centre - For the provision of a specialist high quality rape and sexual violence counselling support service to the citizens of Coventry undertaken with compassion and dignity to almost 5,000 women, men and children every year.

  • Courtenay Griffiths QC- For outstanding achievement in the legal profession including appearing as a defence advocate in the international war crimes tribunal in The Hague.

  • Tim Sawdon - For outstanding contribution to the city of Coventry during 40 years on the City Council, including his year as Lord Mayor in 2012, the year the Olympics came to Coventry, serving as a former Chair of the Housing Committee, as Leader of the Conservative Group and Leader of the Opposition and as Cabinet Member for Culture, Leisure and Libraries.

  • Abdullah Shehu FRCP MBE DL- For outstanding personal achievement in the field of medical research including outstanding care for patients with profound neurological illness and injuries and representing the Muslim community of the city and contribution towards community cohesion.