2019 Recipients

  • Mr Kerry Blakeman - To recognise his 30 years of dedication, commitment and complete devotion to policing in the West Midlands. This includes 15 years in Coventry and leading the operations in the city during the 2012 Olympic Games. Alongside this his pioneering work on the use of social media, becoming a key influencer internationally and advising law enforcement agencies on its huge benefits.

  • Councillor George Duggins - For his outstanding contribution to the city of Coventry and to recognise his 25 years as a City Councillor, which includes being Leader and Deputy Leader of the City Council, together with his contribution to the creation of the Job Shop and services to education and training. He is a member of the Coventry City of Culture Trust and the West Midlands Combined Authority and holds the portfolio for Productivity and Skills.

  • Mrs Jane Frankish - For her outstanding contribution and extended service for over 14 years to Foleshill and the surrounding community, particularly improving and giving life chances with extra curricula activities to over 2,000 children in her time as Headteacher at Broad Heath Community Primary School which is acclaimed nationally by a children’s author as “fizzing with positivity”.

  • Mr Roger Medwell MBE DL - For his outstanding contribution to a variety of fields in the City of Coventry but particularly the manufacturing industry, arts and culture as Independent Chair of the Culture Coventry Trust and through support to Imagineer and Armonico. He has served as a coach for the Godiva Harriers for more than 55 years and was instrumental in helping create the Coventry Godiva Wheelchair Academy. A true community ambassador and a great supporter to local charities.

  • Mr Richard Stanton MBE GM - To recognise his 25 years’ service to the West Midlands Fire Service and as a member of the South and Mid Wales Cave Rescue Team for the rescue of the youth soccer team and their coach trapped in the Tham Luang caves in Thailand, for which he received national recognition and was awarded the George Medal for his courage and bravery.